Tips and Tricks in a world of Mix

OS: Windows 7 x64 bit

IIS : 7.5

You are opening your web site and there it is :

Untitled

It’s coming with enigmatic messages like this :

Untitled1

So , if take a closer look , the only world that matters here is the “MIME” – that means that some handler of the pages you want to show is not installed properly on your IIS.

I was only trying to show

.aspx pages but with no luck, even though in the Handler Mapping in the IIS it’s been shown

image

I knew that the file that installs the extensions is called aspnet_regiis.exe .

After a quick search I’ve found a few of those.

image

So you can go to the Framework folder and find the files.

Pay attention that one is for Framework v4 and another for Framework v2.

So actually I had the handlers for the wrong Framework. My Website is Framework 3.5 , that means extension of Framework v2 are needed.

Run –> Cmd –>

Untitled2

And now you can watch your handlers again :

image

It has added the Framework v2 extension for .aspx pages as well.

(Interesting thing to see , that hence my OS is 64 bit it’s automatically installs support handlers for 32 bit OS as well ).

That’s it , now you can see your .aspx pages.

Comments on: "HTTP Error 404.17 – Not Found (404.3) – Asp.Net mime types missing" (1)

  1. Oluseun TAYLOR said:

    Thanks a million for your help! I couldn’t see my aspx pages via IIS 8.0 on my Windows 8 Pro machine (was trying out Umbraco 6.06). I tried so many solutions like adding the .aspx as a MIME Types as text/html or even application/aspx but neither worked.

    When I went to Handler Mappings, I noticed I did not have the entries for the 4.0 versions (neither 32- nor 64-bits) so I tried to install .NET 4 via command.

    When I tried to install the .NET Framework 4 via command prompt, I got a message that it should be installed using the DCIM command, but I knew that I had previously used that command to install it! So I went to “Turn Windows Feature On and Off” and discovered that some sub-features were disabled. I enabled them all, restarted my PC, and voila! I can now correctly view my aspx pages!

    Thank you once again for your guide here; it pointed me to what I was lacking in my settings! Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

